Devil

Losing independence, addiction and enslavement, caught up in the material, over indulgement, choosing to stay in the dark, pleasures, lust, and desire.

Losing independence, addiction and enslavement, caught up in the material, over indulgent, choosing to stay in the dark, pleasures, lust, and desire.

D E V I L What has traditionally been known as the Devil card expresses the realm of the Taboo, the culturally rejected wildness and undigested shadow side that each of us carries in our subconscious. This shadow is actually at the core of our being, which we cannot get rid of and will never succeed in taming. From its earliest versions, which portrayed a vampire-demon, this card evoked the Church-fueled fear that a person could “lose their soul” to wild and passionate forces. The image which emerged in the mid-1700’s gives us a more sophisticated rendition — that of the “scapegoated Goddess,” whose esoteric name is Baphomet. Volcanic reserves of passion and primal desire empower her efforts to overcome the pressure of stereotyped roles and experience true freedom of soul. Tavaglione’s highly evolved image (Stella deck) portrays the magical formula for harnessing and transmuting primal and obsessive emotions into transformation energies. As a part of the Gnostic message of Tarot, this fearsome passion and power must be reintegrated into the personality, to fuel the soul’s passage from mortal to immortal. Symbol: Bird: The symbol meanings of the bird deals with higher thoughts and matters of the spirit. They are creatures of the air, so they symbolize higher ideals. They also represent freedom and ascencion. When the bird symbol pops out at us during a reading it is a message that we are rising to a higher level, that we need to free ourselves from bondage and we must make our hearts light Heart: As one would assume, the heart has long been as symbol of love, joy, and affection. The heart is also a symbol of truth, courage and conscience. The symbolic heart is the center of existence – physically speaking it pumps out life to the rest of the body. When we note the heart in our readings we must be mindful of our own center, and what is at the center of our focus. We may also ask what we love most – that which is positive or negative. click for a larger view of all cards with the Keys symbol Keys: Keys unlock things, and as such, they represent knowledge, intellect, and uncovering things that are hidden from us. The keys of the Hierophant card symbolize the keys to spiritual knowledge, and wisdom. The ancient Greeks depicted keys as symbols for knowledge and life. When these keys catch our attention we may need to ask if we are locking up our potential, or if we feel something is being locked away from us. Chains: As one might imagine, the symbolic meaning of chains deals with restriction, bondage, conflict, and slavery. Featured in the devil card of the Tarot deck, chains are a message that we may be in a situation where we have become a slave to our thoughts, vices, or to others. It indicates there is restriction or addiction revolving around the situation noted in the reading. Mountains: Seen on many of the cards, mountain symbol meanings deal with triumph, challenge, attainment, and realization. Mountains also represent timelessness and an endurance that is infinite. When those mountains peak out of the cards into our attention, we may consider the vastness of our universe, and contemplate our place within it. We may also want to consider the heights to which we are climbing, and what the realization of our goals may mean for us and those around us. Ask yourself the following questions: Am I feeding an addiction? What do I gain by letting my ego control my life? Do I think I’m unworthy of love? Happiness? Peace? Why? Do I always feel like I need to answer to someone? Why? What is pestering me all the time? What can I do about it? Do I feel like I never have enough, can never be enough? Why? How can I lift myself out of these lower levels of thoughts and feelings? Absorption, Abashment, Totality Influence Stone:Tektite – It’s a black stone Obsidian – Obsolete, Completion, Grounding, Expanse Capricorn – Determination, Dominance, Persevering, Practical, Willful Ask yourself the following questions: Am I feeding an addiction? What do I gain by letting my ego control my life? Do I think I’m unworthy of love? Happiness? Peace? Why? Do I always feel like I need to answer to someone? Why? What is pestering me all the time? What can I do about it? Do I feel like I never have enough, can never be enough? Why? How can I lift myself out of these lower levels of thoughts and feelings? banner1

Leave a Reply

